Ngā Mema o te Rōpū Motuhake

Chairperson - Emeritus Professor Sir Tāmati Reedy KNZM, PhD

(Ngāti Porou)

Emeritus Professor Sir Tāmati Reedy has an extensive background in education and the public sector. He was Secretary of the Department of Māori Affairs from 1983 to 1989. He also worked at the Department of Education. Sir Tāmati was appointed to the University of Waikato in 1996 as Foundation Dean and Professor to establish the new School of Māori and Pacific Development. Prior to his role at the University of Waikato, Sir Tāmati lectured extensively on Māori developments in New Zealand and overseas. He was awarded the title Emeritus Professor by the University of Waikato in December 2009. Sir Tāmati was appointed to the Waitangi Tribunal in 2010. He was also awarded the Knight Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in January 2011.


Rahera Shortland Dip Tchg, Kaiwhakamāori

(Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Hine)

Rahera has extensive experience and involvement in a wide range of Māori language revitalisation and education based initiatives nationally and internationally. She has taught Māori language and kapa haka in secondary schools in the Auckland area, establishing the first total immersion Māori language unit in Secondary schools in New Zealand.

Rahera has had a long and distinguished involvement with Te Ātaarangi, and is a member of the Board of Trustees of the Te Ātaarangi Educational Trust. Rahera is also currently the representative for Te Ātaarangi on Te Pūtahi Paoho (the Māori Electoral College of Whakaata Māori). She has been a member of The Board of Trustees of Te Hononga o Tamaki me Hoturoa PHO, and also of Te Taumata Tamaki PHO. Rahera has exceptional language skills, and is a licensed translator and interpreter for the courts, a tutor at Ngā Kura Reo o te Motu, and a published author. She is the Director of Te Maunga Enterprises who provide consultancy services and language programmes for Māori Television.


Toni Waho Dip Tchg, BA Hons, Kaiwhakamāori ā-waha

(Ngāti Rangi, Te Ati Hau-nui-ā-Pāpārangi, Ngāti Apa, Ngāti Kahungunu, Waikato)

Māori language has been a central part of Toni’s career over the past 20 years through his participation in areas such as Kōhanga Reo and Kura Kaupapa Māori. Toni has been involved in the establishment of Te Rūnanganui o Ngā Kura Kaupapa Māori, as well as the development of Te Aho Matua, the underlying principles for Kura Kaupapa Māori whānau, teachers and students. He is a Trustee of the Te Kōhanga Reo National Trust. He is also a certified Māori language translator and graduated from Massey University after post graduate study in Māori Language Policy and Planning with a focus on intergenerational transmission of te reo within whānau. Toni was the principal of Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Mana Tamariki from 1996 – 2009, and is currently working on a range of Māori language education based initiatives.


Pānia Papa M Soc Sci (Waikato), RSA CTEFLA (Cambridge), Kaiwhakamāori ā-tuhi, Te Panekiretanga (2004)

(Ngāti Koroki-Kahukura, Tainui)

Pānia has a strong background in Māori language education and Māori performing arts. She has taught at the University of Waikato, as well as being involved in Māori language and marae based programmes through Te Wānanga o Aotearoa and Te Wānanga o Raukawa. Pānia is a current member of the teaching faculty of Te Panekiretanga o Te Reo and Producer and General Manager of Te Reo at Cinco Cine Film Productions, responsible for the Māori medium television programme, Pūkana. Through her business, Takatū Associates Ltd, Pānia developed curricula and programme resources for Te Ara Reo Māori and has published a package of Māori language resources supporting early childhood Māori language learning. Pānia is the presenter and co-Producer of the latest Māori language learning television show AKO.


Hana O’Regan MA (Otago), Te Panikiretanga (2004), CELTA (Cambridge)

(Kāi Tahu)

Hana has a Māori language revitalisation and Māori language education background. Hana has taught at the University of Otago as well as Te Mātāpuna o Te Mātauraka (CPIT). In terms of Māori language revitalisation, Hana co-managed the Māori Language Unit for Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu where she helped develop and implement Kotahi Mano Kāika, Kotahi Mano Wawata – the Ngāi Tahu iwi Māori language strategy. Hana has a wealth of governance experience, for example, she was a community representative on the Mā Te Reo Fund Management Committee; and a Commissioner for Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori from 2003-2010. Hana was also recently on the panel for the Foreshore and Seabed Review.

Since 2006, Hana has been the Dean of Te Puna Wānaka – the Faculty of Māori at the Christchurch Polytechnic Institute of Technology. She now holds the position of Kaiārahi, Director of Māori and Pasifika for the institution.


Cathy Dewes BA, Dip Tchg, Cert Biling Ed.

(Te Arawa, Ngāti Porou)

Cathy is a long-time advocate of the Māori language and has been actively involved in various Māori language revitalisation initiatives for more than three decades. Cathy was part of the Te Reo Māori Society, and a founding member of the Kura Kaupapa Māori movement. She was also the first woman to serve on the Te Arawa Māori Trust Board. Cathy is currently the principal of Te Kura Kaupapa Māori o Ruamata and a Te Pūtahi Paoho appointed Māori Television Service Board member. She was also recently awarded the ONZM for services to Māori in the 2011 Queen's Birthday Honours List.


Te Kahautu Maxwell MA (Waikato), Kaiwhakamāori ā-waha, Kaiwhakamāori ā-tuhi

(Te Whakatōhea, Ngāi Tai, Te Whānau-a-Apanui, Ngāti Awa, Ngāti Porou, Tūhoe, Ngāti Maniapoto)

Te Kahautu is currently Head of Tikanga in the School of Māori and Pacific Development at the University of Waikato and teaches Te Reo up to graduate level. He is an expert in tikanga Māori, a tohunga of the Ringatū Church, and a licensed translator. Te Kahautu has a strong background in the performing arts, as a composer of haka, mōteatea, waiata-ā-ringa and poi. He is the tutor, composer and choreographer of Ōpōtiki-Mai-Tawhiti one of New Zealand’s premier kapa haka. Te Kahautu is currently the Mātaatua delegate for Te Matatini, and a member of the Te Waka Toi Board.

Te Kahautu Maxwell was appointed to Te Paepae Motuhake to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Pembroke Bird (effective 15 November 2010).


Pembroke (Pem) Bird

(Ngāti Manawa, Ngāti Tahu)

Pem has an extensive background of almost 40 years in education in general including 15 years Iwitanga education (tribal) his passion, public service with the Ministry of Education and NZQA, teacher education as Dean Te Puna Wānanga at the former Auckland College of Education, where he developed the kaupapa of Huarahi Māori as a pathway for Aotearoa’s first Māori immersion degree.

Special highlights of his career include Principal of Rākaumanga School in Huntly 1986 - 89 a pioneer immersion kura in Iwitanga, a brief stint as an original Itinerant Teacher Māori in 1975, establishing Te Kura Kaupapa Motuhake o Tāwhiuau as Aotearoa’s first Designated Character School in 2000 where he is still Principal today.

He was also a founding member of Kura Kaupapa Māori, a founding member of Te Akatea National Māori Principals Association, and an inaugural member of the New Zealand Teachers Council. Pem was awarded QSM in 2008 for services to Māori Education.

Pem Bird resigned from Te Paepae Motuhake in November 2010.

Back to top