

Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Māori Purposes Bill: Approval for Introduction

Portfolio Māori Development

On 5 December 2024, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- noted that the Māori Purposes Bill (the Bill) holds a category 5 priority on the 2024 Legislation Programme (to proceed to select committee by the end of 2024);
- 2 **noted** that the Bill amends:
 - 2.1 the Maori Community Development Act 1962;
 - 2.2 the Maori Purposes Fund Act 1934–35 and Maori Purposes Fund Regulations 1937;
 - 2.3 the Maori Soldiers Trust Act 1957;
 - 2.4 the Maori Trust Boards Act 1955;
 - 2.5 the Māori Trustee Act 1953 and the Māori Trustee Regulations 2009;
 - 2.6 Te Ture mō Te Reo Māori 2016/the Māori Language Act 2016;
 - 2.7 the Māori Television Service (Te Aratuku Whakaata Irirangi Māori) Act 2003; and
 - 2.8 Te Ture Whenua Maori Act 1993, the Maori Incorporations Constitution Regulations 1994, and the Maori Reservations Regulations 1994;
- **noted** that the Bill repeals the following statutes which have no operative provisions:
 - 3.1 Maori Purposes Act 1939;
 - 3.2 Maori Purposes Act 1945; and
 - 3.3 Maori Purposes Act 1973;
- approved the Māori Purposes Bill [PCO 23917/4.0] for introduction, subject to the final approval of the Government caucuses and sufficient support in the House of Representatives;
- **agreed** that the Bill be introduced on the first available date after Cabinet has approved the Bill for introduction;

- 6 **agreed** that the Government propose that the Bill be:
 - 6.1 referred to the Māori Affairs Select Committee for consideration; and
 - 6.2 enacted, if possible, in 2025.

Tom Kelly Committee Secre

Present:

Hon Chris Bishop (Chair)

Hon Simeon Brown

Hon Shane Jones

Hon Brooke van Velden

Hon Tama Potaka

Hon Casey Costello

Hon Nicole McKee

Hon Simon Watts

Hon Andrew Davis

Han Castt Cimmon MI

Todd Stephenson, MP

Officials present from:

Officials Committee for LEG Leader of the House's Office