

Cabinet Legislation Committee

Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Whātua Order 2024

Portfolio

Māori Development

On 21 November 2024, the Cabinet Legislation Committee:

- 1 **noted** that Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Whātua Order 2024 validates the 2024 elections of members to Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Whātua Trust Board;
- 2 authorised the submission to the Executive Council of the Te Rūnanga o Ngāti Whātua Order 2024 [PCO 26811/9.0] (the Order);
- 3 **noted** that a waiver of the 28-day rule is sought:
 - so that the Order can come into force on the day after the date of its notification in 3.1 the New Zealand Gazette;
 - 3.2 on the grounds that the Order is required to validate irregularities and has little or no effect on the public, and it is beneficial for the newly elected Board members to take office as soon as possible;
- 4 agreed to waive the 28-day rule so that the Order can come into force on the day after its notification in the New Zealand Gazette.

Janine Harvey Committee Secretary

Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters Hon Chris Bishop Hon Simeon Brown (Chair) Hon Paul Goldsmith Hon Brooke van Velden Hon Casey Costello Hon Andrew Bayly Hon Nicole McKee Hon Penny Simmonds Hon Andrew Hoggard Hon Scott Simpson, MP Todd Stephenson, MP

Officials present from:

Officials Committee for LEG Leader of the House's Office

Jamie Arbuckle, MP