# NGĀTI HĀUA IWI TRUST ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2016 UNCONFIRMED MINUTES

1 pm, Saturday 2 July 2016. Ngapuwaiwaha Marae, Taumarunui Street, Taumarunui.

#### **Hui Timata**

1.10 pm

#### Mihi

Joe Allen Jnr

#### Karakia

John Maihi

#### Minute Taker

Frana Chase/Iulia Leilua

# **Attendance Register**

Trustees present: Norman Bradley, Mary Reihana, Dixie Ballard, Iulia Leilua (also, refer Attachment One).

## **Apologies**

- Soraya Peke-Mason
- Joseph Taiaroa
- Merlene Taiaroa
- April Taiaroa
- Tamara Norton
- Aaron Williams
- Bernadette Williams
- Doug Anderson
- Joe Allen Snr
- Taylor Cook
- Lani Vincent
- Hokio Ngataierua
- Marie Cassidy
- Verna Houpapa
- Anahera Hose
- Alan Taumata Snr

## **Minutes from previous AGM**

The minutes of the Ngāti Hāua Iwi Trust's (NHIT) last Special AGM held 2<sup>nd</sup> November 2014 read by I. Leilua (Secretary).

## **Matters arising from previous minutes**

Westpac Bank loan for \$143,000

1. NHIT was not responsible for the loan, it was taken out by a different Maori Trust.

2. NHIT was completely out of debt with any organisation other than Gerald Wong, the Trust's accountant for \$2500.

#### Regularity of meetings

 NHIT meetings have been sporadic since the NHIT AGM on 1<sup>st</sup> September 2013. Since then, attendance for the past 10 trustee meetings were as follows:

- K. Amohia
- N. Bradley
- N. Nikora
- R. Nikora
- D. Ballard
- M. Reihana
- I. Leilua
5 meetings attended out of 10
9 meetings attended out of 10
7 meetings attended out of 10
10 meetings attended out of 10

- 2. The NHIT trust deed states an AGM must be held once a year to report on the Trust's operation for the past year. An AGM for NHIT was held in the following years:
  - 2016 AGM held 2/7/16 - 2015 No AGM held
  - 2014 AGM held 23/8/14 and 2/11/14
  - 2014 AGM field 23/8/12 - 2013 AGM held 1/9/13 - 2012 No AGM held - 2011 No AGM held - 2010 No AGM held - 2009 No AGM held - 2008 AGM held 3/8/08

#### CFRT funding

1. NHIT did not take up the \$50,000 funding allocation from the Crown Forestry Rental Trust (CFRT) because it has not agreed to come under the Northern Cluster also known as the Norther Kahui Collective.

# Resolution 1: That the minutes of the Special AGM held on 2<sup>nd</sup> November 2014 be accepted:

Moved: Rumātiki Lynda Henry Seconded: Eugene Topine Carried Unanimously

#### **Annual Report**

- I. Leilua (Secretary) gave a verbal report of NHIT activities.
  - Funding was sought to hold Ngāti Hāua wananga however financial information was unable to be obtained from NHIT's accountant to open a fundraising bank account. The accountant and lawyer have been instructed by the Chair not to give any information to the trustees.
  - 2) NHIT met with staff from OTS (Office of Treaty Settlements) on 24 June 2015 at Ngapuwaiwaha Marae to discuss advancing a mandate for the northern Whanganui LNG and the work that needs to be done.

3) The Chair sent several emails requesting that the AGM today be cancelled. The meeting has continued as per the request of our Ngāti Hāua Hui-ā-lwi on 30 April 2016 at Ngapuwaiwaha Marae.

# **Chairman's Report**

No Chairman's report was given as the Chairman was absent.

## **Financial Report**

I. Leilua (Secretary) read out the financial report for March 2015 filed by Greer and Wong Ltd Chartered Accountants. There was nil income and \$233 in expenditure with \$32 credit in NHIT's account.

# Resolution 2: That the financial report of NHIT as at March 2015 be accepted:

Moved: Francis Rupe Seconded: Joe Allen Jnr Carried Unanimously

## **Election of new Executive Members**

The Chair sent several emails requesting that the AGM today be cancelled. The Chair's final email dated 29/6/16 was read out to the Hui by the Secretary including his objections to the election of 7 new trustees. The Hui participants opposed the Chair's emails and resolved to continue with the elections.

Resolution 3: That those present at the Ngāti Hāua AGM agree to hold new elections for all 7 trustee positions.

Moved: Julie Ranginui Seconded: Phyllis Haitana Carried Unanimously

Concern was raised that too much decision making powers rested with the 7 NHIT trustees and that a more consultative process be established.

Resolution 4: That every person who is of Ngāti Hāua descent is a member of the Ngāti Hāua lwi Trust with decision making powers:

Moved: Rumātiki Lynda Henry Seconded: Eugene Topine Carried Unanimously

Only 1 nomination was received before the advertised deadline of 1 July 2016. The other 12 nominations were received on the day. The Hui decided to accept all nominations.

## Resolution 5: That all trustee nominations received today are accepted:

**Moved: Peter Anderson** 

Seconded: Eva Tutemahurangi

# **Carried Unanimously**

Resolution 6: That all nominations received before the deadline of 1/7/16 be accepted:

Moved: Eva Tutemahurangi Seconded: Kelvin Wahapa Carried Unanimously

#### **Nominations Process**

Three independent scrutineers were chosen to carry out the gathering, counting and final tallying of the nominations. They were John Wi, Susan Osborne and Gina Cribb. A fourth independent person who did not vote, Tracey Waitokia, was also chosen to observe the scrutineers.

The nominees were also asked to stand and give and short talk about themselves and the skills they brought to NHIT.

Each voter was given a voting paper. 59 votes were counted and checked against the registration list, however 3 votes were deemed invalid. A total of 76 people registered to attend the NHIT AGM 2016.

#### Nominations and Election Results 2016

Susan Osborne announced the names of the successful trustees of NHIT:

- 1) Lois Tutemahurangi
- 2) Rumātiki Lynda Henry
- 3) Jim Anderson
- 4) Eugene Topine
- 5) Teresa Hall
- 6) Willy Huch
- 7) Iulia Leilua

Tracey Waitokia reminded the Hui that the new trustees had urgent matters to attend to regarding Ngāti Hāua's mandating process. The first duty was to send two representatives to meet with Minister Chris Finlayson's office in Wellington on 5 July 2016. The Hui agreed to sanction the new trustees to speak on behalf of Ngāti Hāua.

Resolution 7: That those who have voted for the new trustees give them permission to speak on behalf of Ngāti Hāua to progress the development of Ngāti Hāua's claims and mandating process:

Moved Unanimously Carried Unanimously

## Closing remarks

Dominic Otimi

John Wi Tracey Waitokia Rumātiki Lynda Henry **Closing karakia** John Maihi **Meeting concluded** 5.30 pm